Annunciation: a reflection for Advent

2-1-mary_annunciation_john_collier

(Image: John Collier, Annunciation)

Oh, hullo.
Don’t worry, I’m not going to scream or anything.
I see a lot of angels.
Not as handsome as you, though.
Has nobody ever said that before?
…No, I suppose they don’t.
Nobody’s ever called me ‘highly-favoured’ either.
I suppose you’re going to tell me not to be afraid.
That’s the kind of thing angels usually say.
But you see, that always makes me more nervous
because I wasn’t afraid in the first place.
I didn’t know there was anything to be scared of
until you said don’t be afraid.
I don’t suppose you’ll come in and have a cup of tea, will you?
No, I thought not.
It must be annoying for you, isn’t it,
delivering the news and then never staying around to see how it turns out?
A little bit irritating for us too, if you don’t mind my saying.
Oh, so that’s what it’s about.
Are you sure? Silly question, of course you are.
But you do know I’m not…
…what is it the school nurse says?
Sexually active.
Some girls say they aren’t when they are
and some say they are when they aren’t.
Anyway, I’m not.
Am I gabbling? Sorry.
…Oh. Like that?
Won’t that be painful?
Not any worse than the other way, though.
Not as icky.
Really, you’d think he might have come and told me himself
in the circumstances.
Do say thanks for the flowers, though.
Yes, I guess that’s all right with me.
Okay.
Bye then!

Is that it?

One thought on “Annunciation: a reflection for Advent

  1. Pingback: Solstice, Saturnalia and Christmas-stress | From guestwriters

Comments are closed.